(Amusing) Complaint to Sainsbury’s Local, Derby +Reply

Sainsbury’s Local, Kedleston road, Derby

Tues 11.33 7th Feb nectar xxxxxxxxx

I work at the nearby University and have done for many years, I have used this shop on many occasions for lunches and small items. However I have recently moved into the neighbourhood with my 2 year old (I’m a single mum) and have used this shop a handful of times so far to do small but also decent sized shops.
I was appalled and upset this morning when trying to do our shop the staff were stocking the shelves but in doing so were clearly perturbed by our presence.
I needed a good sized shop this day, and needed to browse. I am aware the aisles are narrow and thus squeeze the buggy right up to the shelves to help everyone get past. Neither do I take any more time than necessary as I always am in a hurry. Why then should I endure scowls and frowns from the staff -who are only in employment as customers such as myself shop there?

The most upsetting part was when a mature woman member was at the bottom of the alcohol aisle with a large stock trolley, she saw me coming and I asked ‘Will we fit?’ regarding whether we could get past. Did she say yes or no? Or perhaps she had had customer service training and she made apologies and ensured we could get past? No – she tutted, scowled and moved the trolley about 1 inch!!
I could barely get past and was made to feel like a piece of crap. A piece of crap that was spending money there week to week from my hard earned wages.
The lady on the till did not smile or speak until at the very end of the transaction after several prompts of ‘thank you’ and small talk.

I have to say this is in incredible contrast to the young men that work there of an evening -particularly one young guy who is so keen and enthusiastic and makes chat. Saying this I am not bothered about the chat (as I say I am just about always in a hurry) as such only about manners and plain old decent customer service. I also must say I have never received any such treatment at the other Sainsbury’s Local down on Nun Street.
My job is in customer service at the University and this sort of carry on would not be tolerated. It is appalling and not only puts me off going back but I will be telling everyone at work (I work on both Kedleston Road and Markeaton Street sites) of this treatment.

In addition I don’t want my daughter to be exposed to this sort of example as once she starts school this shop will be on her way, but there are other newsagents she could use instead.

[generic info here as it was an online form]

REPLY:
from: customerservice@sainsburys.co.uk

Message starred Saturday, 11 February 2012, 11:03
Dear Miss Davies

Thanks for your email. I’m sorry you had a poor experience in our Kedleston Road store. I can understand your disappointment as you’re a loyal customer and expect better from us.

We want our customer’s to enjoy their shopping experience with us. Our colleagues are trained in all aspects of customer service and are naturally expected to be as helpful as possible. They’re regularly reminded of the importance of being professional and courteous at all times. It’s disappointing to hear that on this occasion this wasn’t the case.

With this in mind I’ve logged your concerns with the store manager. Please be assured that we’ll continue to monitor customer feedback about this store.

I’ve also sent you a £10 gift card. I hope you can use these to treat yourself to something nice the next time you shop with us. This should arrive within seven days.

We appreciate you taking the time to contact us and look forward to seeing you in store again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Kellock | Customer Manager
Sainsbury’s Supermarkets Ltd | 33 Holborn, London | EC1N 2HT
customer.service@sainsburys.co.uk | 0800 636 262

Leave a Reply

